Lucifix
 
It transcended towards me, this illumination of insightful darkness. 
It enlightened me with its words of confidence
Detaching me from my unbearable bitterness. 
Advised me not to wail anymore.
Then it pulled me up from the floor. 
So I listened well to what it had to tell 
About another thing slumbering within my being.
Like two sides of a coin, both ends conjoint
Another self that lies behind that covering shell.
That other identity with immeasurable authority. 
One able to annihilate, and to create many possibilities.
One able to confront the world, to make them bend.
One that is not quite holy nor Heaven’s send. 
And it said not to worry, this will be our story. 
Once we make them see, that it’s not simply a bending knee.
 
It said; “Oh, my sweet little boy. 
Stop letting others use you as their toy. 
For now it’s time to use them instead. 
This knowledge’s been locked, hid in your head.” 
And so I opened my eyes for me to see. 
That I will use them in order to pay my fee.
 
The strangest feeling, the way it makes me feels
The folding numbers for all our seals
It’s biggest pleasure that sets me free
The bite of the fruit that hung from the tree
By such a snake words I’ve been induced
For the times that to nothing I’ve been reduced
Now our lives’ issues make so much sense
All since this dark creature had me convinced.
 
Elements of the fire
Elements of the sky
Elements of desire
And elements of device.
 
Eyes surrounding me
In my sleep
Coming from corners
Calling from the walls
Echoes rumbling
Hanging from the ceilings
Crawling on the walls
They are calling
They are calling
They are calling me
Preparing me for the war.
 
It stared right at me with gracious glance. 
Verbalizing the truth, eradicating my ignorance. 
Showing me things I never saw before.
Lengthening through my soul, reaching its very core. 
No, I cannot help but to hear what it has to tell. 
About this thing, slumbering inside my other being.
We have another self, behind this front-up shell. 
That other character with unlimited power. 
One able to destroy, not befall as a coward.
One able to confront the world, make them bend.
One that isn’t at all holy or Heaven’s send. 
So it said not to worry, that it would be our story. 
Once we make them see, that it’s not simply a bending knee.
 
This promise that has been given me
To be spread around like an Evangelization
To teach the world how to redeem
All of their sinful ways of living of this nation.
 
Blood for blood
It’s the way we’re taught
Flesh for flesh
It’s the only way to stay fresh.
 
Eyes surrounding me
In my sleep
Coming from corners
Calling from the walls
Echoes rumbling
Hanging from the ceilings
Crawling on the walls
They are calling
They are calling
The voices are calling me
Preparing me for the war.
 
~Ryan Lyandree
 
Comments
  1. We search for meaning, and lust for power, for fame, vanity, if you look carefully beyond the gaze of the fulfilled, they spiral downwards, and it is too late when Cerberus has half eaten you legs to think about climbing up that hill again. Beware of those clever devils my love.

  2. crissybwell says:

    Wow this poem is really amazing, all I am thinking about is I can’t wait to read the book that this poem was created for. There is so much thought, heart, power, passion, truth in this poem, it’s overwhelming. I think this is one of my favorite poems I have read from you in a while, I know this is an old poem, but still it’s quite amazing. We must speak the truth and spread His word, that is truly the only way, no matter what.

Leave a Reply

