Holy Father

Hello there!
Here is the sound of the bird’s chirping
And the reflection of the sun on my face
Here comes the arrow of sadness piercing my heart
As the mournful deathly hours pass on, slowly stumbling.

Oh Holy Father Who Art in Heaven
When will you come by and pick me up?
Maybe when it’s all over and my life ends
Probably when it’s far too late and there’s nothing to save.

Everyone seems to know
But no one can ever make sure
What’s true and what’s a lie
When it comes to your holy light in this dejected life.

In a dream I saw you riding
Riding into the sun while painting the space with bright stars
Am I damned or am I cursed?
I’m here hanging from a cross that your path led me on.

Oh Holy Father Who Art in Heaven
When will you come by and pick me up?
Maybe when it’s all over and my prayer stops
Probably when there’s nothing left except for my dust.

Like all those before me
Like all those who died hoping.

Oh Holy Father Who Art in Heaven
Where are you and can you hear my prayers?
When will you come by and pick me up?
Maybe when it’s all over and I’ve already given up
Probably when there’s no way to go back to the faith I had before.

Oh Holy Father…
Who Art in Heaven…

Comments
  1. Wow this is very powerful, sad yet beautiful. I can relate, as I think many of us can to this idea. The idea of longing and wanting/hoping for something more or better and questioning why we can’t have it yet or why we don’t have it by now. I these words have a haunting effect that stay with the reader, great piece.

Leave a Reply

