Based on the life of this female character I’ve created for a novel I’m writing.

Man vs Woman

We need a man to do these things for us
Us the “weaker sex”, we need a man to do these things
For a man is strong enough to carry on with these heavy weights
But what about the heavy burdens that they carry within themselves?
Whose gonna sooth those voices that haunts in their heads?
Whose gonna cry for them when they finally give in and lie lifeless in their beds?
Whose gonna make sure that their legacy survives?
Whose gonna take of their children if not their wives?

He’s the head of the house
For he’s the man and he brings the wealth in
We girls can be proud being a spouse
Cause we’re the ones who look after them.

Man vs woman
Is like nature vs passion
Is life vs love
Burying all of the beauty coming from above
We do not need to argue
All we have to do
Is share our love
We must live under the principles of this law.

From Monday to Saturday
Is all about sweat and hard work
But when it comes to Sunday
Is time to spend time with our lord
And sometimes I wonder
In this diminutive space of mine
About the “ifs” of this manmade world
What if things were different?
What if the rules were reversed?
What if history was to be rewritten?

If Jesus were a female
You would have fell in love with her
If Jesus were a woman
You would have taken advantage of her
And nobody would have said anything
No judge or jury would have said a thing
Her blood wouldn’t be something you’d be proud about
For us females have bled for centuries long now.

I bet they would’ve done more than crucifying her
I bet they would’ve done more than calling her names
I bet they wouldn’t only bargain with her garments
But they would’ve bargain with her body as well…

He’s the cornerstone of this house
For he keeps things in balance and brings stabling
We girls can be proud being a spouse
Cause we’re the ones who make sure of everything.

Man vs woman
Is like nature vs passion
Is life vs love
Burying all of the beauty coming from above
We do not need to argue
All we have to do
Is share our love
We must live under the principles of this law.

Comments
  1. bruisedbelly says:

    Interesting concepts, as always.

  2. Katie says:

    We need the other have make us whole. Perfectly perfect poetry to my ears. Love.

  3. This is a very intriguing poem. It’s fascinating the contrast of man vs woman interwoven with the religious aspect as well. I enjoyed this poem a lot. Great job babe! ❤ ❤ Love you!

    • bloodnshadow says:

      Thank you! I was inspired while surfing on pictures in google, I came across a weird picture/painting, really dark, of a woman being crucified… then I thought the lines “If Jesus were a female You would have fell in love with her. If Jesus were a woman You would have taken advantage of her.” and wrote the rest of the poem around it. Its good that you liked it! 🙂 Love u too ❤ ❤

  4. This is just amazing- fantastic. I love this poem. Where do the women who would like to assume this role for their men stand? I also recognize the effort it must have taken to think of Jesus as a woman. Well done.

    ~Audrey

    • bloodnshadow says:

      Thank you, thank you so much! I’m glad you loved the poem. I’m humbled by your words. I was greatly inspired by the things I’ve heard my female friends say. I listen to women’s opinion, and I apply to my artwork and my inner self as well. Thanks again for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

