This poem is dedicated to that little fear in the back of your head, that suspects that there’s something wrong going around.

Deterioration of the Roadway

All of the silence I’ve gathered
Is enough for me to write down these sentences for you
All of the problems we’ve weathered
I’m not sure if they really bring us closer to the truth.

You have your little space
Where you come around with your little friends
And they all laugh at your little jokes
And pat at the back of poor little you.

All of the indifference I’ve witnessed
Is enough for me to differentiate things that are to be
All of the struggles we’ve confronted
I’m not sure if they really bring light to what you to need see.

You have your little space
Where you come around with your “subtle” friends
Telling how big of a life you have
As they mourn your current situation with me.

I am here overanalyzing on how cynical your words of support can be
I am here overanalyzing for when the backlash of your actions will come
I am here overanalyzing for when I’m forced to sabotage all there is
I am here overanalyzing for when your friends welcome you into their homes.

Comments
  1. Jayne says:

    Ooooh that little fear is potent isn’t it. it knows exactly what to say to push every button. I’ll have to remove some of those buttons and get it sidetracked.

    • bloodnshadow says:

      Yes! It is! It does! It feeds on some suspicion and a lot of paranoia. This has been the first time I’ve written about it. Most times I simply ignore the fear or contemplate on it. I think it was healthy to just address it. Thanks for reading and commenting. 🙂

      • Jayne says:

        Addressing it leads to identifying it which leads to understanding and then conquering and ridding it of it’d power to scare. Although, I’ve found that with bigger fears, you have to do that more than once and that takes persistence. ; \ but at least it is possible.

Leave a Reply

