This Thing We Call Love

She asks me one more time
The feelings in my heart
I’m not sure what she wishes to hear
But I’m keeping this apart.

She pulls me closer to her
Her arms strong, tight, closed
I’m not sure what she is thinking about
But I’m leaving this unspoken.

Love shouldn’t be pain
Love shouldn’t be suffering
But here we are at the same
Kind of re-attempting loving.

I ask her what this is all about
This things she speak of
She expects for me to guess all of the words
But I simply have no clue.

I push her away from me
My hand firmly towards distance
I’m not sure what I’m trying to attempt here
But I can’t deal with all this silence.

Love shouldn’t be pain
Love shouldn’t be suffering
But here we are at the same
Kind of re-attempting loving.

And life should be about passion
And passion should be about trust
And trust should be about closure
Close enough to feel your breathe warm my heart through.

She’s not giving me a chance
But she’s giving me a choice
“Is this what you want? …
And if not, would let me know? …soon”

She’s not giving me a chance
But she’s giving me a choice
“So if you want out…
Well, that’s okay with me… yeah”

We’re hung up in this thing we call love
We need, we ache, we deserve, oh, so much
Fragile, the heart might pretend to be strong
But we all need someone to hold us for as long.

Leave a Reply

