Sometimes I like talking about social consciousness. This is one of those times. This from a point of view of somebody who doesn’t care to understand. Enjoy!

The New War

Comfortable in my hatred for this world
I’m at ease with watching it burn
As long as the flames don’t reach me
I’m okay with the death at hand.

I’m safe here in my home
Watching my favorite TV shows
Relaxed sitting on my couch
Skipping all the troubling news.

I’m here sleeping in my bed
Counting countless of precious sheep
With a big smile on my face
Carelessly dreaming about what tomorrow might bring.

I’m here eating all of my food
And when I’m full I’ll throw the rest away
It’s not my fault that in this world some die of hunger
They should have made better decisions.

I’m doing my share
I’m working my ass off to maintain myself
It’s not my responsibility to watch over others
I’m not indifferent; I’m simply too busy with my own problems.

This is this country’s way
But having a race makes no difference
I’m doing the best that I can to reach up to the top
It is just too bad that the ones bellow work so well as a stairway.

“You can exterminate strangers’ lives
And conquer pieces of foreign lands
But the only war you will never win
Is the one that’s waging within yourself.”

Comments
  1. This is very powerful. It holds truth and sadness. Here are a lot of times when we all get caught up in our own worlds and lives and forget the needs of others. It’s just in our nature as human beings to forget, we all do it. It’s always good to stop and take time to reflect though like you do with these words here. We all need to help each other other through because no one can do it alone.

  2. Lynne Michelle Greaves says:

    Beautifully written, is it ok for me to re-blog, I’m having an ‘on my soap box day!’ and your message is so powerful I’d like to share it, many thanks 🙂

  3. Lynne Michelle Greaves says:

    Reblogged this on power animals talking and commented:
    Beautifully written, a good message from Blood ‘N’ Shadow Writings.

Leave a Reply

