Shade & Shelter

Posted: May 28, 2015 in Artsy Poetry, Dark Poetry, Gothic Poetry, Love Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

gothgirlallblack Shade & Shelter

Do you like something broken?
Everyone’s looking for something fixed
Do you like someone who’s outspoken?
Or someone who will eat up your shit?

I’m not that ugly
I’ve been touched in ways that would make me sick
Guess I’m not that monstrous looking
I’ve been desired in ways I would just walk out and leave.

I’m your shade
If you need something to hide you from the sun
Would you be my shade?
If I need to hide, would you be the one?

Are you looking for something real?
Everyone’s looking for something to be pleased
Do you want to face the real deal?
Or do want someone to keep on a leash?

I’m not that stupid
I could pick your mind apart and burn it in my heart
Guess I’m not that blindly naïve
I know how to give a broken engine a forceful start.

I’m your shelter
If you need something to hide you from it all
Would you be my shelter?
If I need to hide, would you answer my call?

Do you know how to walk in the park carrying a bright wide smile?
Do you know how to scream when it hurts so much you wish to die?
Do you know how to let go of the things holding you down and still?
Do you know how to love someone so much that for them you’d kill?

Comments
  1. I love the vulnerability and honesty in this poem. It is both challenging and inviting, it has a tenderness about it as well. I love the last stanza, sometimes love and care is simply left to questions. Love reading your stuff as always babe.

Leave a Reply

