A break up poem.

rustedheart

Corroded Heart

This dream is for dreamers who don’t dream anymore
This love is for lovers who don’t want to love anymore
This life is for the living who wishes to escape somehow
And all we have left is the right here, is the right now.

I know, I know I’m trying so damn hard
I know, I know it all goes downward
But if we try, if we try to move forward
Maybe we’ll find, we’ll find a new start.

Can your love heal this corroded heart?
I don’t think love can heal your corroded heart
You’re still living for the wounds, for the scars
You’re still pushing off those broken parts.

This poem is for poets who don’t want to write anymore
These words is for readers who don’t to read anymore
A song for singers who don’t to sing about it anymore
A way to escape what we had but we still want more.

I know, I know we’ve been trying so damn hard
I know, I know it all goes downward
But maybe, maybe if we try to move forward
Then we’ll find what we want to find, a new start.

Can your love heal this corroded heart?
I don’t think love can heal your corroded heart
You’re still living for the wounds, for the scars
You’re still pushing on those broken parts.

I think your steel dug deep into the nerve
And crossed off where our names we’re carved
And now going back sounds so damn absurd
I don’t want to go back, go back to the start.

Comments
  1. I like this poem the subtle heartbreak in each line, in each word. You use such strong imagery with the lines you create that the reader can’t help but feel as you do. The pain, struggle and heartbreak of letting go. Of having to let go of something you thought would last. Though painful this is a beautiful poem.

Leave a Reply

