A poem I wrote a few years ago for a novel I was writing. I fixed some things I thought would sound better. (Original post)
 

Devastated

Just when you thought you as a king,
would regain control of your kingdom.
Here come Mars burning your plans,
corrupting each and everyone of your people.

Dear foolish Saturn, so devastated.
Your oceans turned to piss filled ledges
You’re no god, you’re no son, and no spirit.
But just a folk’s tale, nothing more to it.

Thinking of leading the hollow and shallow,
Cause they’re only ones who’d follow.
But the fire of Mars will burn eternally.
So Saturn, don’t take this personally.

But just watch you as you weep for your people.
They formed a new minster and it’s made of sheer evil.

Poor, poor, Saturn, completely devastated.
You had your time but procrastinated.
We’ve won this war before it was about to begin.
We’ve driven your children into the infinites of their sins.

And so they move only by the hand of fire.
Of the thief, the destroyer, of the liar.

Oh Light beyond the darkness
Shine upon me and upon us
Lead us with your wings of angel
Shine upon this broken road.

Disappointed and stranded I seek for you
Faith has given me nothing but false hopes
Reach me with your hand, lead me through
Shine upon me… shine upon this broken road.

Just when you thought of you as a creator,
would regain control of your creation.
Here comes a heavenly body crashing into,
Obliterating all of your precious nature.

Dear foolish Saturn, so devastated.
Your body turns to dust filled maggots
You’re not alive anymore than your lies are
You cannot mend all of these scars.

Thinking of leading the hollow and shallow.
Cause they’re only ones who’d follow.
But the fire of Mars will burn eternally.
So Saturn, don’t take this personally.

But just watch you as you weep for your people.
They formed a new religion and it pours sheer evil.

Oh Spirits beyond this world
Lead me to your leader, lead me through the wire
Refine me with your bursting fire
Shine upon my broken life.

Break through
Ray of light
Break through
For this revelation.

~Ryan Lyandree

Leave a Reply

