Authentic Love

Your love raises me up to the heavens
Your love raises me up to the sky and the stars
and the sun and the whole constellations and even beyond
Such a tiny little heart has such an immense feeling
enough to fill up my old broken heart with a new promise
To hear from you the words “I love you.”
Makes me want to be the greatest person
Makes me want to be the greatest man
and protect you for always from any harm.

You stood there waiting for me to respond
I didn’t even know what was going on
By the time I realized your hands trying to reach out
I tried to grab on them, as you were leaving
but you said “I’ll come back later”
and we can spend the time we were denied before
I hold to those words, and wait for that moment
Giving meaning to this never ending time cycle.

You with your authentic love
As innocent as your innocence of childhood allows
Your words become actions
And I imagine your arms around me, hugging me up
Don’t ever let go
Even if a millions miles of streets are in between
My heart is your home
And your heart is where my love will always live on.

Leave a Reply

