Burning On Your Own

Posted: August 17, 2015 in Reflection Poetry, Social/Society Poetry, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

This poem is about when you’re having a good day and somebody else is not, and that person tries hard to take your focus out the goodness inside and onto their distorted dark thoughts.

Burning On Your Own

This is your new way for getting what you want
You try to reel me in your emotional state outburst
But I learned a lot in my past life, here’s one
It takes two to start a fight, so I walk the other way.

I can read between lines
But I prefer to be told
I’m sick of playing games
Say what you need to say.

You’re the one with the problem
So why are you sticking your fingers in the wound?
If you’re the one who needs to complain
Then why are you creating this barrier of nonsense?

The end is gonna be the end that was written
You can blame me all you want for what I know already
It’s not my fault that I learned all the techniques
And all the tricks under the sleeve to pretend ignorance.

I can tell what this is about
And I won’t touch it
You want me to burn with it
But I won’t give you that pleasure.

If you’re that evil, then you’re that evil
And it has nothing to do with me
There were others before me, I’m sure
So why lay all this blame only on me?

To play the victim first you must have a hint of innocence
But your hands are as dirty as the ones who played with the mud
If you don’t understand this reference, I don’t have time to explain
I know how to push things over the edge as well… oh hell.

You’re burning in your own desire
To see fall for what you’re setting
You’re burning in your own wish
Of seeing me crawl at your command.

Leave a Reply

