This was a poem originally titled ‘Broken Engine‘, but after revising it and changing quite a lot, it became something else. So I re-titled it ‘Thermal Efficiency’. Here’s that poem. Based on a fictional female.

Thermal Efficiency

He came like a locomotive stirring, streaming towards me
Pulling on the breaks but not before crashing into me
He said his machinery required a brand new throttle
He said my heart was the engine and my love was the fuel.

All of this time…
Your sulk was the fizz,
Heating up the pressure valve
Blowing from out your mouth
And for a while…

You were so thermal efficient.

Your strong firm hands were warming me up
Like a conductor,
Filling charcoal, with a shovel
Into the firebox of a steam engine train
Getting hotter,
Motion was faster.

Lights out, rate is gained
In this obscurity, meeting gently
As you continue your journey into the tunnel.

You seemed so thermodynamic, but now I cannot tell
I was so masochistic, compelled under such brutal spell.

All of this time…
Your sulk was the fizz,
Heating up the pressure valve
Blowing from out your mouth
And for a while…

You were so thermal efficient.

Your strong firm hands were warming me up
Like a conductor,
Filling charcoal, with a shovel,
Into the firebox of a steam engine train
Getting hotter,
Motion was faster
Iron on bar
The boiler burning,
Sparks flying,
Gasping, grasping,
Tight, here in our steely shelter
At night, under these sheets…

Lights out, rate is gained
In this obscurity, meeting gently
As you continue your journey into the tunnel
I dug deep my nails,
Firmed, into your skin,
And you flinched out of pain
As the echo of my voice exclaimed
“I just want to make sure this ride
Doesn’t drive me off of the rails!”

He came like a train stirring, streaming towards me
Pulling on the breaks but not before crashing
He said his machinery required a new throttle
He said my heart was the engine and my love was the fuel.

But then he became unstable, combustive,
The fire that ended engulfing the whole thing down.

You were the fire
Blazing out from your body…
And when you imploded
You blamed me for it.

Comments
  1. I love the dedication to the metaphor in this poem. You use strong words and imagery to truly create an emotional poem. Your words stir a sensual reaction. I really enjoyed reading, as I do all of your poems. 🙂 another great poem baby.

Leave a Reply

