echovoid

Echo into the Void

I used to believe there was a way
As long as there was a will
But, man, it all has been a mistake
Because the hunters still on the kill.

We’re tiny particles in this huge world
Lost in a galaxy that gets past the stars
Our gods, our myths, our thoughts;
They disappear before they even start.

Nobody will come to save us
Until it’s way too late.

I used to believe there was someone up there
That to our prayers would hear
But, man, it all has been a façade
And all we’re left with is our fears.

We’re invisible in a world that moves so fast
Lost in a moment that everyone will come to forget
Our desires, our needs, our quest will come to pass
Would we ever have the chance the retreat?

Nobody will come to save us
Until it’s way too late
Nobody will come to save us
Until we’re finally dead
For they don’t care
This world doesn’t care
This will be the voice
They won’t ever hear.

So feel proud of your accomplishment
We haven’t amounted to very much
And forgive me for my disillusionment
These circumstances come as such
And every life simply weights the same.

(And as I echo my voice into the void
I realize I wasted my time chasing ghosts…)

Comments
  1. I can hear the sad longing in this poem. The desires and emotions that you are expressing perfectly come through with each line. It is a struggle but keep writing and getting it out. Great poem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

