I wrote today three new short poems. This is one of them.

The Bait of Righteousness

I find myself crying for things I cannot change
The uncertainty of this life has me by the neck
Funny how this familiar feeling feels so strange
I thought by now I’d have got used to the wreck.

I wish I would grow to learn
I wish I would grow to understand
It tends to hurt when I burn
Without having a leading lending hand.

I wish I could learn before tomorrow
How to protect my heart from the hands of the thieves
But with much wisdom comes much sorrow
He who increases knowledge increases having great grief.

I thought I was being led into light
But I was being railed by the bait of righteousness
If you want peace you have to fight
The irony of how resting comes with the weariness.

Leave a Reply

