Inherent of Itself

Posted: March 7, 2016 in Loss Poetry, Sad Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Inherent of Itself

I say, burn it all down
Burn it all down, girl
I’ll stay here, right beside
Till it all goes to the ground.

Cause the ghosts of the hands can’t “untouch” us
And the strike of the words can’t “unhurt” us

So I say, burn it all down
Burn it all till there’s nothing left
I’ll stay here, right beside you
Till you feel comfort to move on.

Cause the sand won’t go back to its prison bottle
And our tears, they go down the river with the bodies…

And so they rest and dream
Of the dreams I couldn’t dream
But now you do
Rest on, my friend, rest forever.

I should’ve kissed you when I had the chance
I should’ve told you how I felt then…

Maybe things would’ve ended up different
Maybe I would’ve done the very the same.

Comments
  1. This has such a sad tone. The heartbreak and loss is felt with each word and line. It really tugs at the heart of the reader and makes them feel each word.

Leave a Reply

