The Dearly Departed

Posted: March 15, 2016 in Death Poetry, Melancholic Poetry, Painful Poetry, Sad Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The pain of losing someone dear to you

The Dearly Departed

Please don’t depart from here
I think it’s far too soon
Maybe you can linger a bit longer
At least for a few years now
Before we have to say goodbye
I don’t want this to be the end
Tell that place that awaits you
That we still need you here.

Woke up the next morning
And you were already gone
And a big gap grew inside my body
Where my heart and my soul used to be.

There are news that I don’t want to hear
Tell me it’s a lie, tell me it’s not true
Tell me this is just a bad dream
And that soon I will be waking from it.

And when I do,
You’ll be next to me
Just like you used to,
As it should be.

You took a piece of my life
When God decided to call on your name
I think it was all a mistake
And now nothing will ever be the same
Cause here there’s someone
That still loves you, that still weeps for you
And in my dreams
I still long for your return
Knowing that that will never happen
Completely devastates me.

No matter how much
I close and open my eyes
What gone it is gone
And how I wish to feel you
To touch your face again
To hold you in my arms
Come back to me, please
Don’t be only a memory.

Please don’t depart from here
I think it’s far too soon
Maybe you can linger a bit longer
At least for a few years now…
Maybe forever…
Maybe for an eternity…
Maybe…
I’m sorry…
Please…
Come…
Back…
Please…

Comments
  1. This poem tears at your soul. I think that everyone can relate, because we have all lost someone close to us. It is always difficult to lose someone, especially because we are the ones that are left behind here, hurting. I think those people we lose that are closest to us, that pain never goes away and just stays with us. This poem really captures the loss and emotions perfectly. Another great poem!

Leave a Reply

