The Proposal

Trying to find a way to say this
Because for me this is all too new
It has been lingering in my head for an eternity
And I don’t know to express without giving a clue.

I have no need to be what society expects of me
But when it comes to you I can’t help but to stay still
“So what is then?” You ask; “what is going to be?”
Would you wait forever to finally say what I feel?

I don’t know anything about gardens
Flowers be red, violet, yellow or blue
Is there any way that you can find me?
I seem to be lost in the thoughts of you.

How can a poet not be romantic?
I see this life for what is it
And you’re the best that has happened, the best experience
So what am I to do to extend and expand what we have here?

The words escape me and I have a lot to say
I have a need that seeks to fulfill in me everyday
And I bet that by now you’ve been patiently waiting
But I don’t know how to make this a memorable memory.

I don’t know much about pretty dresses
But a white gown would look beautiful on you
So what am I saying in these lexes and verses?
The one question that you want me to ask you.

So I’m ready to take on that step
If you’re ready to take it with me
This is the only way I know how to do this
And to hope that you say “yes”, so our lives will be complete.

Leave a Reply

