A Poet’s Struggle

Posted: September 21, 2016 in Depressive Poetry, Love Poetry, Struggle Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

A Poet’s Struggle

Last night I listened to my heart’s beats
And it sounded like drops falling from a faucet
And I believe that it was secretly crying
But that’s a thing that I’ll keep from ever explaining.

Cause your face doesn’t seem like in the mood
And it aches inside but I’m not sure if I should
So instead I swallow it all, till the point I get sick
So you’ll think I’m an asshole, just a stupid prick.

So who truly understands the matters of love?
When one is hurt, all of it seems crudely lost
So would you smile and pretend that you’re not hurting?
No love, that’s another way of denying your feelings.

Last year I thought it’d be gone by now
But still we see ourselves under the law of this vow
And I can undo it if that’s what you wish
Cause I know you love your dinner served as a cold dish.

So today doesn’t seem to be a good day
And it aches inside not being sure of what to say
So instead I’ll swallow it all, till the point I’ll get sick
So you’ll think I’m a douchebag, another senseless dick.

It’s getting harder to be honest around you
It’s getting harder to spill my heart in front of you
And I bet that you’ll say you feel the same
So what gives? Has our trust become our shame?

We have our senses all against the wall
And our hearts hanging by a thread, waiting for a fall
So what should we do next? Please tell me, do say
Should we carry on like this or simply walk away?

Cause sometimes I will keep it all inside
Yes, sometimes I’ll swallow all the truth
Cause I’m afraid you‘ll abuse my pride
But mostly I’m afraid of ever losing you.

Comments
  1. philessatry says:

    A poet’s #1 struggle — payin’ the bills 😉

Leave a Reply

