girltophouse

Desolation

Distance is tearing us, my darling
Distance is killing us, my dear
And the weather is getting colder
Since I don’t have you lying here
And if I have to wait one more minute
One more hour, one more day
For you to come back to my arms
To my life, to this house, to our bed
To this place we call our home
You might find me old, tired, confused
And probably already dead
By the time of your return
You might find me lying lifeless
You might find me diseased
Cause every second that passes
My heart keeps drowning
My heart keep sinking in
Into the ocean of my very own lonely tears
And I need you darling
Yes, I need you dear
I need you right now, right here.

So come rushing in through that door
I cannot wait for you anymore
Cause I’m slowly slipping,
Softly crawling on the floor
Minute after minute
Little by little letting go
In the beach of our memories
Sitting by the shore
As I ache for your return
My skin begins to burn
My thoughts they turn
In and out and all around
And all I want to be
For you my darling
For you my love
Is be prepared and beautiful
Have the strength
To break this vicious cycle
To come across the other side
Safe and sound
To find peace within this inner storm
For when you come home.

So what are you waiting for?
What is it making you take so long?
While I’m here desperately waiting
Passing time alone
In this, our bedroom
Our sacred shelter,
where our love belonged
So here I hear only the wind whistling
The tick tock
of the hands of the clock
That for you it hasn’t stopped
Not like I’ve had
So as I press onto this message
And I write the final lines
Of this unusual, intricate, poetic prose
I ask you more directly
Have you come to your senses?
What do you have to say in your defense?
Is this the end?
I think I see the rolling credits
As they play that trailer song
So come on and tell me
That this is not so
Come rushing in, my dear
Come back to me, my darling
You have until the morning
You have before the sun.

Comments
  1. This poem is very beautiful. I love the desperation of love that you are describing. Your words are so beautiful, no wonder I fell in love with you 😉 I can’t wait until love is united again. It is too bad that work has to keep us apart, but we will be together again soon. 🙂 I love this poem! I think that there are many who can relate to these feelings though, that desire and longing, you just sum it up perfectly 🙂

  2. SweetMeLyn says:

    Very Nice. I love the message.

Leave a Reply

