Maleficent

You want me dark
You want me bleeding poison, my darling
You want me dark
You like me all corrosive, sweet thing.

You say you liked me then
When I was just an infantine
You say you wanted me then
When I was childlike and innocent.

But every girl gets her moment
When the crimson river divides
From tender to being impervious
From infant to be fully grown.

This is my womanhood
Now that I’m marriageable
Don’t you like the way that I’m blooming?
Don’t you like now that I’m blossoming?

You want me dark
You want me hissing venom, my dearie
You want me dark
You like me all acidic, oh, honey

You say you liked me then
When I was shy and callow
You say you wanted me then
When I would just nod and follow.

But every girl finds their juncture
When the crimson river divides
From tender to being impervious
From lamb to become an adult.

This is my coming of age
Now that I’m all grown-up
Don’t you like the way I have bloomed?
Don’t you like now that I’m blossomed?

There’s no need to have my drink spiked
If I was to count all of your strikes
You’d have no chance, baby
I would’ve strangled you long ago.

I mean,
Why would a soldier be stripped off his stripes?
Why would you eat on a fruit that’s not ripe?
Baby, time is essence…
Trust me.
For when you sink your teeth into this apple
Hope you don’t choke.

You want me dark
You want me spreading decay, my darling
You want me dark
You like me wreaking havoc, sweet thing.

Comments
  1. Wow this is telling. Knowing that you aren’t a woman the way you write this is so spot on. That struggle and feelings of blossoming. Those desires or thoughts of being desired. I can understand a lot of the feelings you describe, it seems weird to read. I really enjoyed this poem and the dark, seductive tone.

    • bloodnshadow says:

      Thank you for reading and for your kind words. I’m glad that u think that my words are spot on in this poem. I like developing this character. I’m a really observant person and the things I observe in people I apply them to this character. It was weird for me to write, but that was part of the challenge and the sense of aventure one gets when one attempts to try onto new things/new methods. I try to make Amanda White to sound like an actual woman who’s writing her life’s story. Thanks once again.

      • I definitely know they are. I can tell you do and that is good. She is better because of the attention you and care you have for her. You are extremely observant and it shines through in many of your poems like this one. You definitely make her sound that way. It is great!!

Leave a Reply

