Undeniably Undependable

A stingy sensation on the pit of my stomach
Laying there are broken dreams and dead butterflies
When an intention breaks into such a remark
You become the judging eye of who truths and who lies.

Lifted up from the remains of what was once alive
Walked away from the traces of what was once conceived
If I knew that you would’ve taken me for such a ride
I never would’ve stepped foot on that shelter where you lived.

Hard to envision anything any other way
When your wine is strong, with a bitter sense of convolution
Any lap dog would find it easy, to go stray
If they knew the true intentions of your so called revolution.

A peculiar sensation in the back of my mind
Sitting here with such familiar features of things I doubt
What could develop here, what could be left behind
Whatever trail I follow that will for sure become my route.

Leaped from under the fire and all of the debris
I crawled away from the crumbled pieces of my palace
If I knew that past beyond “forever” you would flee
I never would’ve exchanged my heart for this lack of solace.

Hard to position you in any other place
When your rope seems strong, but breaks from its fine line
Any beggar would want to witness your grace
If in their very naivety they didn’t conceive that you are lying.

Walking straight, with my breast held high up
If you need to say something here, you might as well cough it up
‘Cause once I take flight, I won’t be looking back for signs of life
‘Cause I’ve witnessed all you have to offer and it’s all in bitter strife.

You’re undeniably undependable
A plugged-in toaster unexpectedly thrown at my water filled tub
My dignity is certainly not negotiable
And the blood stain you’ve left in my heart is one you cannot scrub.

Comments
  1. Wow this is powerful. I particularly like the last stanza. You can almost feel the weight of the words and this stanza will definitely stay with the reader. It is the perfect culmination to the whole of this poem. This is heavy, sad but I enjoyed it.

    • bloodnshadow says:

      Thank you once again for reading and commenting. This was written from the perspective of a woman. It’s like a toxic relationship. It’s a mindset of “things might not change, so I’m not gonna risk trying.”

      • I can understand that. It is often difficult to get out of something even if you know it is toxic because most people aren’t completely bad and you see those moments of hope that make you stay. It is a common experience expressed in a way only you can 🙂

Leave a Reply

