I wrote this last month, but never posted it. It’s from the point of view of an asexual person.

Key Hole

I’d like to see you naked
Uncover the mystery that hides under your pressed on clothe
That cold, silky, pale skin, like a mannequin
I would like to see you dance when you’re unaware that someone’s watching.

‘Cause you’re you when you don’t care if nobody notices
You’re you, in the dark, in the loneliness, in the silence.

I’d like to see you transparent
Without all of that bullshit that you put on for the audience
Those lines that are drawn on your face when you smile
I would like to see you undone, raw, in the verge of a spontaneous combustion.

‘Cause you’re you when you don’t have to hold the ball
You’re you, in the fragile, shameful, reality of uncertainness.

Sulkier for the stalker whose eyes are restraint
You’re like that portrait I would like to paint
You’re a web and I’m tangled in your strings
You’re like that song that I would like to sing.

Your soul is like a key hole
Whose spectators are looking in
I want to unwrap you whole
Grant a place for your bare being.

Comments
  1. This is so sensual. It seems weird to say sensual as you write about being asexual, but it still has that feeling and tone. I enjoyed the flow and build up of this poem. I think that many people can relate to the emotions and feelings you write here, those feelings of wanting to know someone. I enjoyed this poem.

    • bloodnshadow says:

      It looks sensual, because how can a man address a woman about her personal self, beyond her body image without sounding gay? The character has no interest in her sexually. He just wants her to stop thinking that all men see her that way. He wants to strip this down this front, this image, this thing that everything has to be sexual for a man and a woman. Thanks again for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

